Our Board and Committee Members

Our Board Members

We are currently building our Executive and Advisory Boards.

Interim Executive Board

We’re pleased to announce that the following individuals have been invited to join as interim Executive Board members and have accepted. We are pleased to welcome:

David Aitel, Director *. Dave Aitel is a technologist who started his career at the National Security Agency. He has continued to focus on offensive cyber security solutions, founding and building the company Immunity, Inc.to develop penetration testing, assessment, and strategic consulting platforms targeting the financial and Fortune 50 market.  He also performs as part of the Commerce Department ISTAC, where he focuses on cyber tools and AI regulations. He has written for many popular cyber policy blogs on Export Control, such as CFR’s Net Politics, Cybersecpolitics, and Lawfareblog.

Frank Heidt, Director. Frank Heidt leads Leviathan’s executive management team as Chief Executive Officer.  As the creator of Leviathan’s innovative business structure, Frank Heidt is responsible for designing Leviathan and bringing together security professionals with diverse backgrounds from premier consultancies, industries, and government agencies. Frank is a recognized expert in the fields of information assurance, network security, and systems penetration. Prior to forming Leviathan, Frank was a Managing Security Architect for @stake and headed up their Pacific Northwest practice. He also engaged in various computer security related work for the Department of Defense. In his capacity as one of the DOD’s civilian Information Systems Security Officers (ISSO), he was responsible for securing several large networks for the Department of the Navy. Frank has been a Visiting Lecturer at the United States Army War College, the United States Navy War College, and the Naval Post Graduate School on the subject of defensive information warfare and military computer systems security.

Gordon “Fyodor” Lyon, Director. Gordon Lyon authored the open source Nmap Security Scanner in 1997 and continues to coordinate its development. He also maintains the SecLists.Org, Insecure.Org, SecTools.Org, and Nmap.Org security resource sites and has authored seminal papers and patents on remote operating system detection and stealth port scanning. He is a founding member of the Honeynet Project and serves on the technical advisory boards for Qualys and AlienVault. He also authored or co-authored the books “Nmap Network Scanning”, “Know Your Enemy: Honeynets” and “Stealing the Network: How to Own a Continent”. His newest project is Npcap, a raw networking library and driver for Windows.

Bill Pollock, Chairman *. With a background in the business book publishing beginning in 1987, Bill Pollock is the Founder and President of No Starch Press. Pollock formed The No Starch Press Foundation and has been its primary donor since its inception at the end of 2016. Pollock is committed to supporting and helping to develop the worldwide hacking community in its many forms.

Liam Randall, Director. With a career spanning 20 years, Liam Randall has worked at every level of the information systems pipeline—from building and operating large networks, developing and maintaining large 100M+ e-commerce solutions, to designing and implementing global network security monitoring sensor grids. A frequent speaker and trainer at security conferences, Randall has trained thousands of students on advanced incident response. A serial entrepreneur, Randall most recently founded Critical Stack with the goal of automating security and compliance for secure container orchestration. Critical Stack was acquired by Capital One in 2016, where he currently serves as President of the Critical Stack division of Capital One.


Treasurer: Frank Heidt

Secretary: Vicki Friedberg (Interim)

Special Advisor

Catherine Shiang, Esq

Advisory Board

Matt Blaze, a researcher in the areas of secure systems, cryptography, and trust management. He is currently a full Professor of Computer and Information Science at the University of Pennsylvania, and on the board of directors of the Tor Project.

Jon Callas, computer security expert, software engineer, user experience designer, and technologist who is the co-founder and former CTO of the global encrypted communications service Silent Circle. He has held major positions at Digital Equipment Corporation, Apple, PGP, and Entrust, and is considered “one of the most respected and well-known names in the mobile security industry.” Callas is credited with creating several Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) standards, including OpenPGP, DKIM, and ZRTP, which he wrote. Prior to his work at Entrust, he was Chief Technical Officer and co-founder of PGP Corporation and the former Chief Technical Officer of Entrust. He has also worked for Bruce Schneier’s Counterpane Internet Security, was one of the primary authors of the DKIM method, and was Chief Scientist of the original PGP, Inc. founded by Phil Zimmermann. Callas is a member of the Infosec think tank The Shmoo Group.

Ryan Clarke

H D Moore

Bruce Potter, chief information security officer (CISO) of Expel where he’s responsible for cyber risk management and ensuring the secure operations of Expel’s services. Previously, Bruce co-founded Ponte Technologies, a cybersecurity research and engineering company that worked with organizations ranging from hedge funds to intelligence agencies. Bruce founded the Shmoo Group and helps run the yearly hacker conference, ShmooCon, in Washington, DC. He has co-authored several books and written numerous articles on security (or the lack thereof). He is a regular speaker at conferences including DefCon, Blackhat, and O’Reilly Security as well as private events at the United States Military Academy, the Library of Congress and other government agencies.

Peter “Mudge” Zatko  From 2010-2013 Mudge oversaw and ran cyber security research programs for the Department of Defense and Intelligence Community out of DARPA. He was awarded the highest medal able to be given to a civilian from the Secretary of Defense: The Medal for Exceptional Public Service. After DARPA, Mudge was Deputy Director if Google’s Advanced Technology And Projects division, until he left to launch the non-profit 501(c)3 Cyber Independent Testing Labs where he is currently their board chairman. He is currently head of security at Stripe.

Programming Committee

* Dave Aitel, Chair



* Bill Pollock

Liam Randall

Russ Rogers

Marketing Committee

* Bill Pollock, Chair

Skip to content